Goodbye, Auf Wiedersehen, Farvel, Ciao, Au Revoir…

“Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go”

– Green day, Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)

I guess after my last blog, this was the inevitable choice to make – leaving DK.  Flight has been booked, paid for and is ready to take me away to a new chapter of life, in Holland – on Friday 10th May.

I guess life is too short to start hating it, and that is what I have been doing for a while now.    Sorry, things didn’t work out differently but I think 3 years is time to call it.

Did I give it my best shot? Could I have done anything better?  

Sadly, most of us are our own worst critics and I have to say – I think I could have been more prepared, tried harder and learnt more.  However, it is difficult to improve on a situation which sometimes seems insurmountable.  When you try, get knocked down and the cycle repeats endlessly – then doing one’s best can lack the same sense of drive/motivation you once had.

What am I leaving behind?

I guess the nicest (broken hearted), Danish guy I ever knew…  The best fellow ex-pat friend you could have wished for…  And some good people I’ve met during my time here…  This has made the tough call a very difficult one.

Have I thought this all through?

Yes!  The lack of work/career/prospects were the biggest cause of so much stress, depression and self  loathing.  Without a reason to get up and do something to be proud of, I am nothing – just a number in the Danish system.  A number who has no voice, no significance.  There are obviously many other reasons, which impact the decision – but they fade in comparison.

What will I do?

I have been offered a fantastic chance to try and rebuild my life in Holland – and accepted the invitation to give it a shot, rather than run (with my tail between my legs) ‘back home’ to England.  I know I will be kindly welcome back ‘home’ but I’d just prefer to explore options and take a giant ‘leap of faith’ with the Dutch.  This may be a surprise to most and some may think I’m crazy.  But, I think that I owe it to myself to at least try and go for a chance of happiness there, than wonder about the ‘what if’s….’.

Summary

I don’t think this is a surprise to many people at all and has been on the cards for a while now.  I see no more point to dwell on the negative stuff too much.  To be fair, I have had some good times too.  I take away some experience and knowledge about Denmark, and at least I have some insight and a lot of memories (good and bad).  Hopefully, I have also made some friends here who will also stay in touch and see me in another time/place again…

This entry was posted in Holland, Life in DK and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goodbye, Auf Wiedersehen, Farvel, Ciao, Au Revoir…

  1. HOX says:

    Good luck with your new life, and another chapter, it’s all part of life’s rich pattern!

  2. Mark says:

    Thanks for filling in some of the detail here. I really really hope things go well in Holland, another new adventure! Whenever you are feeling down, or self critical, just remember that no sane person can ever describe as anything other than BRAVE!!

Leave a Reply

